Area Plan Commission


The Commission consists of nine members, appointed to represent our six member units of government (St. Joseph County and the Towns of Lakeville, New Carlisle, North Liberty, Osceola, and Roseland). State law authorizes the establishment of plan commissions and the composition of their membership. Enabling Legislation IC 36-7-4-202.

Please note that the Area Plan Commission works similar to a jury in a court case. They are not permitted what is called ex-parte contact. Meaning petitioners and the public should not approach them about the cases they consider before they hear the case in the public hearing. Similarly, members of the Commission will abstain from participating in a petition if they have a conflict of interest.
Member Name
Term End DatePosition
Who Appointed Member
Adam J. DeVon
12/31/2021PresidentCounty Council, St. Joseph County
Dr. Jerry L. Thacker
Replaced upon agreement by school districts
Vice PresidentSchool Corp. Superintendents,
Currently Penn Harris Madison School District
John R. McNamara
Member per state law
Executive Committee MemberCounty Surveyor, St. Joseph County
Robert M. Hawley
Board of County Commissioners,
St. Joseph County (Citizen)
Dan Caruso
Until replaced by Town CouncilMember
Town Council, Town of New Carlisle
Jason LambrightUntil replaced by Town Council
Town Council, Town of North Liberty
Kirk Youell
Until replaced by Town Council
Town Council, Town of Osceola
Elizabeth J. McCombs
Replaced upon agreement by Lakeville and RoselandMember
Council on Town Affairs,
Towns of Roseland and Lakeville
Rachel RawlsMember per state law; voting member due to residency in County
MemberCounty Agricultural Extension Educator

Plat Committee Membership

The Plat Committee consists of five members, appointed annually by the Area Plan Commission to review subdivisions.

Member Name
Alternate for Member
John R. McNamara, P.E., L.S.
St. Joseph County Surveyor
John Law
Jessica J. Clark, P.E.
Vice Chairman
St. Joseph County Engineer
Charles "Chip" Porter, P.E. (1)
Sky K. Medors, P.E., CFM (2)
Chuck Bulot
City of South Bend/
SJC Building Department
Randy James
Dave Cherrone
Clay Fire Territory
Ron Melser
Mark Espich
St. Joseph County
Department of Health - Environmental Division
Brett Davis